OK a short blog here and for which I’m looking for feedback. This weekend, I’ve been playing in the Dominion Regional playdowns (yes, your humble servant is a club champion!). One of the new rules introduced this year for any competition leading to a national championship is that you flip a coin before the game with the winner of the flip getting choice of rocks or practice.
At least, that’s what I’m sure it was supposed to be.
Here’s what the rule reads: “. . . teams will conduct a coin toss to determine choice of stone colour or first practice.”
Now what we were told was that the winner of the toss gets a pick of either rock colour or first practice. And the loser gets what’s left.
So let’s say Team A wins the toss. It chooses red rocks and therefore automatically gets second practice (which I believe is preferable). The loser of the toss, Team B, gets no say in anything (unless, of course, the winner of the toss picks first practice) and has to take first practice. Whoever wins the toss also can’t select second practice.
Does that seem right? Shouldn’t the scenario be winner of the toss gets choice of rocks or practice the loser gets choice of what the winner doesn’t select.
I tried to argue this with the volunteer official but she said, no, the loser of the toss gets no selection.
What do you think? Is this a misinterpretation of the rule? Or is the rule just stupid?