Monday, December 29, 2014

Jones rink gets no love at CP team of the year voting

OK, I admit that I thought Jennifer Jones gold-medal winning team was a bit of a long shot to win the Canadian Press Team of the Year award, and in the end, it finished well back. Actually, it's finish kind of stunned me in that it so far back.

It was predictable that the Canadian men's hockey team won the award. Hockey basically trumps everything in Canadian sports and most of the people who vote on this award -- sports editors from across the country -- focus on hockey on a daily basis so it's understandable that this squad would get the majority of votes.

The men's hockey team received 36 votes, followed by the bobsleigh duo of Heather Moyse and Kaillie Humphries and nine for the women's hockey team, which had that dramatic overtime win in Sochi.

The Jones rink received just four votes, which placed it behind the three aforementioned teams as well as the Calgary Stampeders and the University of Montreal Carabins football team.

It finished ahead of the Toronto Raptors, the Montreal Canadiens as well as the ice dance team of Scott Moir and Tessa Virtue, and the University of Windsor women's basketball team, which won its fourth consecutive CIS title.

Is that a bit of a slap against the Jones team in particular and curling in general? In my opinion, yes. Not to diminish the other teams here, but I don't think most of the voters realized the performance the Jones team put in. It was among the best the game has ever seen.

Here's the full article with the breakdown of voting. 

No comments: